Welcome to the iO Theater!

Widely considered to be the premier venue for long-form improvisational performances and classes, the iO Theater (formerly known as the ImprovOlympic Theater) was founded in 1981 by Charna Halpern and the late great improvisational teacher and director, Del Close.

The iO Theater quickly became a hub of comic creativity that has helped inspire and train an entire generation of America’s best and brightest comedic actors and writers that include some of the most recognizable names in the entertainment industry like Mike Myers, Tina Fey, Chris Farley, Amy Poehler, David Koechner, Cecily Strong, Adam McKay, Aidy Bryant, Tim Meadows, Seth Meyers, and many, many more.

Q: What do all these people have in common? A: They’ve all studied and performed at the legendary iO Theater.
  • alumni-banner-1
Business Solutions
About the iO Theater